top of page

was (2021)

for amplified trio: voice, percussion, and violin

























premiered by TAK Ensemble

Program Notes:

my name is gasoline. i have no thoughts.
i hold your hand, like you,
i smell bad. i buy pastries now.

call me gasser. i love mud now.
i ground your city, even you, 
i taste it. i burn a million years.

i have no memories. name me that.

i hang.

fake me aren't wet, still you.

i’m strange split portion sin,
guaifenesin, and you all over,
what am i?

loosens in me,
i starnge. without you
bear too ripen.

bloat. i was all day inside skin.
i was all day now. still rage
plugged inside out. demon eyes was me now.
i was to neptune. i was back.

bottom of page